Tips on writing first Netbook?

Coordinating community projects
Gravesguard
Conspirator
Conspirator

Tips on writing first Netbook?

Post by Gravesguard »

I've been working on and off for a couple years on a concept for a netbook, a rework/expansion of my favorite domain Scaena. Now that I have a group interested in Ravenloft plus a second online group; I'd like to play test it with them. Afterwords I'd like to write out and release it. I've poured over many of the ones published on this site, but was curious what people like to see in them, any person favorites, or just tips in general for organization/voice.
Mischief
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

Re: Tips on writing first Netbook?

Post by Mischief »

Gravesguard wrote:I've been working on and off for a couple years on a concept for a netbook, a rework/expansion of my favorite domain Scaena. Now that I have a group interested in Ravenloft plus a second online group; I'd like to play test it with them. Afterwords I'd like to write out and release it. I've poured over many of the ones published on this site, but was curious what people like to see in them, any person favorites, or just tips in general for organization/voice.
I'm seconding interest in this topic.

As far as general things I think cross all editions and most TTRPGS.
  • Legible fonts for body text and headers - better readable than creepy
  • Good formatting
  • A comprehensive index
  • Art. Raid the public domain for things to rip or mod to reduce your workload. Wikicommons is a good place to start.
  • Non-spoilery character profile art that DMs could flash to the players if possible.
Things I would do personally.
  • A dramatis personae list: full name, pronunciation, a half-sentence description, page number of introduction in text, and statblock page number if relevant.
  • An introduction from an extra-diegetic view (an out of world perspective) - a 1-3 sentence story and setting sell.