What do I need to run MotRD?

Discussing Masque of the Red Death
Robin
Conspirator
Conspirator

What do I need to run MotRD?

Post by Robin »

Hello,

I am new to roleplaying and i would like to try running a Masque of the Red Death setting. Can someone please tell me what books I need to run this setting? I am confused.

Please tell me what are the absolute essentials, followed by what would be nice to have. Thank you.
Coan
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

Post by Coan »

Well assuming you want to run a 3.5 edition game (that is the latest version of the rules) you will need:

Masque of the Red Death Campaign Setting. Make sure this is the new book as there is the original box set (made in the 90's) is still floating around on ebay and the like.

Plus the Ravenloft Players hand book which gives rules for Madness, Fear and Horror plus powers checks. However maybe this falls into what would be nice to have? Depending on budget (if it is real tight just go for the Masque setting book first and have a look to see if you like it).

That is what you 'need' (besides the actual core game rule books for dungeon and dragons itself).

I don't know your background but do you have any D&D books to start with? Unfortunatley it may be expensive just to grab the needed books to play D&D in one go.
[size=75]-Wake up... wake up and smell the ashes-[/size]
ScS of the Fraternity

Post by ScS of the Fraternity »

Hi Robin,

For absolute essentials - I would say that you can get away with several different combinations.

A word of warning, though. The 3rd edition Masque of the Red Death book was very poorly put together.
The Living Death web site had a FREE players Handbook for Masque of the Red Death, which was much better written and much more comprehensive.

If you have the book D20 Modern, you could manage to run a D20 Modern game in the Masque of the Red Death setting, especially if you can get the supplement D20 Past.
Evil Reigns!!!!
Robin
Conspirator
Conspirator

Post by Robin »