The land of Mists (contest submission story)

Fiction about Ravenloft or Gothic Earth
Manofevil
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

The land of Mists (contest submission story)

Post by Manofevil »

To the Solamnic Knightly Council:
Linaras, Reapember 6, 359 AC

My name is Merrick Marcusa.
I am a Knight of Solamnia.
...And I am lost.

I do not know exactly how I came to be here or what this place is. The people speak
languages unheard in Solamnia. The night is stalked by creatures only barely conceived of . And
perhaps strangest of all, the stars are different. I see none of the planets we know and the
moons have disappeared. Most peculiar are the stars. I studied astronomy when I was younger
and I see none of the constellations I know should be there. Could I have come to a completely
different world? These and a thousand other questions consume me when I am not fighting for
my life or making poor attempts to speak the language. I can trust no one here. In every eye I
see fear, grief, hatred, mistrust, even madness. What could plague this land that there could be
so little that is good?
I am reminded of Ansalon in the time before the Dragon War. Wickedness marshalling
across the land. Seekers preaching against the Knights, the Elves, the Dwarves, and any
memory of the true gods. Yea, These same true Gods who I was taught to revere, to honor, to
emulate, as I was Huma. These Gods whose presence I later felt when we returned to them-
these Gods I can feel no more. All my life I had lived without them only to find them returned to
me. And now again I find them beyond me. I never realized how much comfort I had come to
take from their presence. What power could so muffle my prayers as to make them inaudible to
my Gods, or worse still, What could prevent them from acting upon my prayers having heard
them. I never dreamed I could miss them so much.
I am often tempted to condemn them as so many others did after the Cataclysm. Still I